Healthy Chunk Energy Bites

This year has been all about getting back on track health wise. I’ve made huge improvements beyond even what I’ve done in past years. I’ve embraced the art of cooking healthy consistently and taken up hot yoga. I’m also getting back into lifting weights beyond my comfort zone; I haven’t done so in years…  This is all something I want to blog about more often, which is definitely off my beaten path of start-up marketing posts as of late! 

“Energy bites” are one of my all time favorite healthy snacks. I mentioned it in a blog post long ago when I didn’t like cooking (blasphemy!) This time, I wanted to share how I make it and all the ingredients I use.

energybites

Basically, you need to raid your local Bulk Barn. I only get ingredients that are raw, unsalted or unsweetened, including the peanut butter (which I add in when I don’t have enough almond butter). I also like to load up on the “healthy chunks” with raisins, pumpkin seeds, shredded coconuts, cacao nibs, sunflower seeds, ground flax seed or almond meal, and most importantly almond butter.  Missing from the picture above is the rolled oats (toast in oven at 350 degrees for 5 minutes or until golden brown), which is also a Bulk Barn buy. They didn’t make the picture because they were being toasted in the oven. Also missing is a pinch of sea salt and a tsp of almond or vanilla extract. I throw in all the ingredients using my eyes as a rough measurement of cups, half cups, and handfuls, mixing it all in as I go. It’s what cooking should be based on, no?

photo 5

Ensure the consistency is like cookie dough, the dry seed/nuts pieces shouldn’t overpower the wet ingredients. Once its all mixed, create balls, and place in the fridge. The longer you keep it in the fridge the better it tastes. In fact, place it in the freezer and indulge in a cookie nut snack instead of ice cream.

healthy chunks

My recipe is based on this Pinterest post.

What other ingredients would you recommend? 

Leave a Reply

