To Schedule or Not to Schedule Your Social Media

There are those of you who may find “scheduling” social media impersonal and disengaging, yet as someone who monitors multiple social streams everyday, I can’t fathom not scheduling social media. I have now even set up minor social media scheduling for my personal tweets as well. I’ve experimented with and tried out various modes of scheduling on all types of social media. In any case, there are definite pros and cons to scheduling and not all social networks are meant for scheduling. Here, I will rundown my recommendations for each one as it pertains to business.

Social Network

Scheduling Rule Reason
Twitter Yes I had the chance to read a fascinating chapter from the unreleased book: The Science of Marketing. It basically stated that the ideal tweets a day are “22”. Given the timeline changes so quickly, I recommend scheduling tweets (heavy on the links) evenly throughout the day or during your desired time zone. I use Hootsuite, Buffer, and Batch.me to schedule tweets.
Facebook (page) Yes I would recommend scheduling a maximum of 3 posts. Generally, people check Facebook first thing in the morning, lunch time, 3 pm and after dinner. This will require some testing as it varies based on your target market’s Facebook habits. Facebook works well, if you do some paid ads or promoted posts (more on this later). I use Facebook (native) and buffer to schedule posts, although I usually post in real time since it’s less frequent.
Tumblr No I have tried “queuing” 10 Tumblr posts throughout the day. But, I realized that Tumblr is a community that does bursts of sharing vs. queuing throughout the day. They’re more likely to engage when they see 5 to 10 of your posts all at once vs. 1 every hour.
Blog Yes Your blog should be scheduled since you’re probably only blogging at maximum 5 times a week. (Wow if you are!) This will again depend on testing and figuring out when your target market likes to read your content, start with common sense times like Facebook posting.
Pinterest No There are a few Pinterest scheduling tools that exist like “Pinerly” but for some reason you have to pay to schedule; you can do up to 3 for free. Like Tumblr, the community is built on bursts of sharing so I don’t really see the point of scheduling. Alternatively, you can create a board that is shared with a bunch of people who will post various times a day.
Instagram Can’t You have to do this manually
Google Plus Can’t

You have to do this manually, in fact Google plus discourages third party posting.

While I do cross promote content from Pinterest/Tumblr to Twitter and Instagram to Facebook etc., I treat each social network as its own community. What I mean by this is I don‘t just schedule and forget about it, I ensure I check each feed for engagement and analytics.

This leads to two more topics: analyzing the behavior of each network to figure out which one works for your business and how to best analyze and find insight around what‘s working and whats not working. These two posts coming up next! Stay tuned.

3 thoughts on “To Schedule or Not to Schedule Your Social Media

  1. Pingback: Everything you need to know about Instagram for Business | JasCity

  2. Pingback: How to be a pin-star on Pinterest | JasCity

  3. Pingback: How and when to share your content on EVERYTHING | JasCity

Leave a Reply

