Women Wednesday: DIY Halloween Costume Ideas

Halloween is my absolute favorite time of year. I love everything about it from pumpkins to dressing up in cool costumes, to of course, the candy/chocolate! Unfortunately, this will be the second year in a row when I’m not at home to enjoy the festivities and sadly I’m unable to take my nieces out for their first Halloween :-(.

Nonetheless, I’ve had some epic costumes in the past few years that I’m going to share with you. I’m probably not going to be needing a costume this year due to the lack of Halloween spirit in Delhi or atleast the complete lack of parties to attend except by fluke last year I went to an epic party! I guess we’ll see what happens this year, since I do have a costume idea already planned out for it…

First up: Death Barbie: circa 2010

I used a fake ponytail, a somber colored – gold chained tube top and brass earrings. The makeup was done by my sister-in-law, she used lots of greens and blacks to create the contrasts shown on the sides of the nose and cheeks which I think is the biggest part of getting the “death” effect.

deathbarbie

 

Next up: Rag doll: circa 2011

I used blue streaks of “hair” I found at the dollar store, a billowy white “pirate” shirt and pink and black knee socks. Again, I had my sister-in-law do my makeup, this was a lot tougher than the death barbie look, as it needed a lot more makeup to create the large eye effect and pursed lips. In this case, the main color used was white and fake eyelashes. It was not fun coming home a bit drunk trying to wrestle those off. Here’s an extreme example.

 

IMG-20111029-00200

 

Lastly: Black cat, circa 2012

cat2011

The simplest costume by far is the black cat. I wore a long “furry” sweater dress and put my hair into two buns to appear as ears. I bought black eyeliner and created a nose and whiskers. It wasn’t rocket science and you can tell that I didn’t have my sister-in-law to help me. Here’s a better example.

This year?

If I have the opportunity, I want to be a scarecrow. All I need is a check shirt and a knit hat. The make up seems fairly straight forward as well as it appears to use mostly orange based makeup, but I’m sure you can make it red if need be.

scarecrow

 

What are you going to be for Halloween?

 

Leave a Reply

