Women Wednesday| Laser Procedures I swear by | Part II

Last week, I told you all about my experience of getting Lasik eye corrective surgery done. This week, its about another laser procedure related to hair removal. Yes, there, I said it.

We all have hair and its natural, but for some of us it just doesn’t grow in the right places. Of course, there are weekly things you can do like threading, waxing, and plucking that are inexpensive and effective atleast for the short term. Yet, there are so many issues associated with doing this that cause long term effects like wrinkling of the skin, ingrown hairs, and scarring.

I decided to do laser after trying everything else and realizing that I was just making it worse and losing the battle. I was anxious about going through with it because anything “laser” scared me (this was pre-laser eye surgery). I’m not sure when I started, but it was prompted by a cousin who had gotten it done and all of her cousins had gotten it done. When 5 or 6 cousins approved and had glowing hairless skin, I was sold. I went to the same lady that they all went to because I figured she couldn’t totally mess up my face.

The laser treatments takes about 6 to 10 full sessions every month and then you go back every 6 to 12 weeks for touch ups until it goes away permanently. Unfortunately, laser treatment is painful, excruciating and you get big red blotches on your skin for atleast 24 hours. You literally have to hibernate for the day or two after you get the treatment done (if you get it on your face atleast). Furthermore, its damn expensive. Each session is upwards of $150 depending on what body part you’re getting done. The price is half when you’re only getting touch ups. ‘

So, it’s painful and expensive, but for me, the long term results are definitely worth it. It’s just one less thing to worry about.

Next week, I’ll talk about how to get rid of Ingrown hairs. Yes, we are getting girly on women Wednesday (that’s the point).

Leave a Reply

