Naturally Negative Nancy

photo

I’m not going to sugar coat it, this year so far, has been one of the toughest years of my life. The funny part is, being in San Francisco for the summer was harder on me than being in Delhi, India for 6 months. I found that my capacity to “hustle” has become extremely limited. I hit a point in my life where eating a healthy dinner, and sleeping early are far more important to me than going out to meet people on a weeknight. Its part due to hitting 30 and getting older. Other things in life take precedence, and after 7 years of entrepreneurship, things catch up to you, especially your health.

Here is an interesting thing I learned about myself this year.

I am a naturally negative person, yep that’s right, you can be born negative and positive, its not your fault after all. I always look at the negative side of life and am generally not a super cheerful person. I have to make a concerted effort to be positive and think happy thoughts. But, don’t get me wrong, I have an amazing life filled with love, support and opportunities I wouldn’t trade for the world.

As an entrepreneur, this has been my single greatest challenge without realizing it. Being negative affects everything from your self-confidence to your relationships. I have faced spans of time where I’ve been caught in a downward spiral of negativity. I am basically a very outrageously optimistic person for someone who is naturally negative, thinking I could make the impossible happen (i.e.: my many startups). In any case, I’m sure I’m not the only one who is like this – we all face personal daemons in some form or another. It’s more important to realize that you can reverse the affects of negativity. For me its important that I work out, jogging and meditation help me loads. I also have positive mantras that I repeat to myself. Yes, I believe in all that “secret” stuff.

Are you “naturally negative”? How do you deal with it?

Leave a Reply

