India: Only the Beginning

Having only experienced the comforts of 5 star living, I can’t really say I have explored “real” India as of yet. (Well on this trip anyway). However, against my better judgement, I did have sushi from a restaurant and a bit of salad from another, yes both times my stomach was a bit confused. It was worth it though, the food here is exceptional. After a busy weekend, the jetlag hit me like a ton of bricks on Monday afternoon, not a great feeling. I am also feeling a bit overwhelmed, my job which seemed manageable back in Canada now seems like a difficult feat with alot to do and multiple cities to visit.

Not only that, but I have to manage actually living here alone like a normal person, not a 5 star celebrity. 🙂 Yes, I am crazy and do miss the comforts of home already.

I have decided to just plan out a few days at a time otherwise, I will go nuts trying to figure out how I will ever be able to live in a Mumbai which apparently looks down on single young women.

I must also keep busy, otherwise my mind wanders and can’t comprehend what it got itself into.

Things I have learned so far:

  • Even in 5 star hotels, you must wash your own underwear because you wouldn’t want someone else washing it by hand now would you?
  • Indian white wine is actually quite good
  • Instead of a bible, hotel rooms have cookbooks.
  • Happiness is: swimming laps in an empty outdoor pool in 35 degree weather
  • Class division (poor, rich, help) are grossly apparent
  • Actually, not everyone in India uses a blackberry – I have seen Androids and iPhones

The past few days have been awesome though. A great way to start off the India adventure. I was fortunate enough to meet a few influential industry people as well as am finally able to view real time India conversations on social media.

I definitely need to take more pictures though, and also get my phone set up still.

 

 

Leave a Reply

