My girlfriend doesn’t dress me (anymore)

by Jessie Banwait

We arrived in a blur of style yet considerably late. I didn’t know what to expect as we opened the door to murmurs of laughter in the sleepy gated community. It turned out to be quite a little party of 10-15; booze was plentiful but the night was winding down. As I was pouring myself a drink at the make shift bar, my side kick shouted to the male beside me “How come your not dressed up like you were at the last party?” Surprised someone would be so observant at his previous attire, he replied “Oh my girlfriend didn’t dress me”. I was puzzled and I scratched my head. Should I voice my opinion and tell him to be a MAN; or do I dare ask him if his wifey also washes his underwear?

Too often I come across men who are dressed by their significant others and they proudly admit this sad truth to me in casual conversation. I don’t think I’ve ever met a woman who has ever been dressed by a man; other than Clinton Kelly on What Not To Wear.

A famous saying states “Dress for the job you want not for the job you have.” How can a man define himself and his career path if he is being dressed by his significant other? Dressing is more then just putting on clothes and going about your business; it’s about forming a unique personal identity and style.

As the night wore on, I was having a good conversation with a real man; whom like myself doesn’t get dressed by a woman, but does ask her opinion from time to time.

Leave a Reply

